Skip to content

Bucket List, suddenly relevant

December 8, 2008

So, I’m only 26, and I’m not really the kind of girl who ever had a “Bucket List’ so to speak. There isn’t really anything I feel like I want to do and can’t, if there is something I really wanted to do (Skydiving, for instance?) I would do it. Right? Right.

And losing weight would never EVER be on that list.

Except I recently realized I’m getting old. Not old as in actually old, but old as in “At some point here I’m not going to have all these opportunities and I should probably figure out what the hell I want to do with my life before it is too late.”

Not too late as in I’m dead, but too late as in, I’m too old. I don’t even want to get into the whole mechanics of how people can actually be too old to do certain things, I prefer to think that this is not true. Age, wisdom all that stuff. I also really doing think I should be concerned about how old I am at 26.

But apparently some things have upper age limits on them, one of these things is The Met Nat Aud Comps . Something I always thought I would “Get around” to doing, but now will really have to bust my ass if I’m going to do it and should probably not even bother. (Childbirth is another I guess, so far I”m not interested in engaging in that at ALL.)

The Met Audition Competition is a huge national competition of opera singers who go and sing before a met panel. I wouldn’t even really want or expect to win, I just feel like it is something I should try.

And now I have 3 years, 3 years to make myself good enough to sing before people who are actually good. Oh and no money for voice lessons, did I mention that? It is incredibly depressing.

And even if I had the money, do I really want to spend money on singing when it will probably never be a career for me? Should I instead go take my GMATs and try to get in to business school? Should I push harder for six sigma training? Should I get my masters in stats instead?

I’m out of college, I have a job, I have a house, now what?

It reminds me of a song from Avenue Q:

“I wish I could just drop a class

Or get into a play

Or change my major

or fuck my TA

I need an academic advisor to point the way!”


Here is my bucket list as it stands:
1. Met Nat Aud Comps
2. Finish my Novel that I started for Nanowrimo
3. Go to Amsterdam
4. Run a mile
5. Uhm… not appropriate for publication 😉 😉

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Wicked permalink

    I don’t really have a “bucket” list as much as I think of it as a list of stuff I’d like to get to do someday. Like, go to Australia. Or learn to knit.

    And 26? Old? Feh, you’re a baby! I’ll be 40 in 4 months and I’m still trying to figure out what I want to do when I grow up.

Leave a Reply

