Skip to content

Et Tu Dude?

February 12, 2009

So, I went to potbelly today and I got these amazing mini oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.  They are nom and I am much in need of chocolate this week.  Surely, I thought, the guy who sits next to me and his guy friends will help me finish these cookies before they go stale.

So I offer them some cookies.

And was completely blindsided by the Diet Monster.

Before I know it they are both telling me about how much weight they’ve lost and how they don’t eat such and so but sometimes they take the weekend off so they can really enjoy it.  I managed to not completely lose my shit and I said something about trying to listen to what my body wants blah blah blah.  But wow, just… wow.

Obviously it is dumb for me to forget that guys would diet, but, these guys, who are already normal weight?   It hurts my brain, I am used to thinking of women as being always on a diet, but guys too?  Is this just a hole in my awareness of diet culture  or is dieting now de riguer for the menfolk as well? It just seems like this is the kind of thing that would violate the WANGZ.  (Not that I care about the WANGZ, but these guys do, TRUST me.) (LINK FIXED!! 2/13)

I’m just flabbergasted, and a little embarrassed that these two guys less than half my size are busy dieting while I’m chowing down on potbelly cookies.

Oh well, their loss.

From → Uncategorized

18 Comments
  1. awakeintheworld permalink

    yeah, my husband just this week joined WW online. Last time he was on WW, I was, too. Now I am having to deal with fighting the diet monster every time I go to the computer (he likes to keep his “plan manager” up all the time. Now I’m sorry I introduced him to WW so many years ago. 🙂

  2. Jamie permalink

    Yes, skinny people diet….the problem is that when you take your body weight down to a point that its not naturally, you are condemned to keep dieting forever muahahahaha in order to maintain the lower weight.

  3. Rosa permalink

    Ugh. For a while, my little brother was weightlifting and only eating fruit & protein. He’d send me these long emails about his body fat percentage…nearing 30, he’s relaxed some, but he’s still a “protein shake & salad” eater.

    My boyfriend comes from a crazily fucked-up food background, he *still* after 10 years wtih me automatically picks the low-fat or low-sodium or fake-sugar version of whatever I send him to the store for, unless directly told not to. This is despite that fact that we have an underweight kid we stuff calories into like it’s going out of style.

    Thinking about it…I do believe every guy I know does or has dieted. Maybe even more of them than women, or maybe the women are just smart enough not to tell me.

  4. moxie permalink

    My brothers, in their late 50s exercise compulsively so they eat more calories to make up for the compulsive exercise they do. I think they are careful about what they eat most of the time anyway but I’m sure they see it only as “fuel” for the body. It doesn’t surprise me at all that many young males are dieting today, their pressure to be a certain size may not be the same as a woman’s yet but I predict one day they will be equally pressured.

  5. Rosa,

    Has your son been tested for Celiac Disease? Some people who are underweight are found to have an autoimmune gluten intolerance and once they eliminate gluten, they are able to keep weight on…That being said I am fat and have celiac disease so anyone can have celiac but some people show symptoms by not being able to keep weight on…I thought I’d pass that along.

    Take care!
    p.

  6. Maybe those guys have just never tried Potbelly’s oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. Because omg, I think those may be the best cookies on earth!

    Well, like you said, their loss…

  7. randomquorum permalink

    I’ve had a bit of the same shock since I started my new job. The guys here are mostly middle-aged and sometimes talk about diets, directly or indirectly. There’s one guy who after a big lunch will say “Oh well I won’t need any dinner tonight” or will complain about gummy bears being evil because he ate 2 today. Yes 2.

    Then there’s the guy next to me who is losing weight by not eating lunch (woah!). Has been for the last 3 or 4 months. At about the 3 month mark he said he’d lost 8 kilos. 8 kilos by skipping lunch every day for 3 months? I’d rather be fat!

  8. Yes, skinny people diet….the problem is that when you take your body weight down to a point that its not naturally, you are condemned to keep dieting forever muahahahaha in order to maintain the lower weight.

    Studies have found that eventually you will start regaining, even if you stick to the diet.

    In humans, researchers often assume this means the subjects are dieting. But it’s been found in animal studies too.

  9. Godless Heathen permalink

    Oooh, oatmeal chocolate chip, I didn’t think anyone made them anymore. Potbelly has this awesome salad with artichoke hearts, next time I get one I’m definitely ordering cookies.

    Odd though, most guys I know of only diet when there’s a weight they have to hit for a sport. Maybe I just know a lot of really skinny guys, none of my friends can gain a pound to save their lives.

  10. Dieting is ridiculous and a waste of time (waist?). It’s so much better to eat real food (ie something you recognize as food because it looks like a fruit or a vegetable or a piece of chicken) and enjoy it.
    Screw the low fat bs, eat butter! Use olive oil, stir fry with sesame oil, and btw coconut oil makes a great moisterizer.
    Lose the fake sugar, use honey instead, or raw sugar, at least something that came from a plant and hasn’t been processed to death.
    Visit my new blog, The Well-Seasoned Woman, and follow my thoughts on a natural lifestyle based on India’s Ayurveda, which I am studying at Kripalu School of Ayurveda. I have a page on my Yoga satire too…

  11. HeatherRadish permalink

    I used to work with a lot of guys (in software) who were always on diets. They’d spend whole lunches talking about what they “couldn’t eat” and how “bad” they were for having a slice of cheese. Evil judgemental talk. It was like for half an hour, they turned into high school girls. At my job before that all the men were on diets and organized themselves into a weight-loss competition…

    I find it really sad that men are expected to put the same amount of time, energy, and money into looking slick and thin as women are–mostly because I think it’s sad women are expected to expend so much time, energy, and money on their appearance. Instead of liberating women from a double standard, feminism appears to have shackled men to the same standard. Dunno what went wrong…

  12. This is not unusual. I recently worked in the office of a construction company – about 10 men and 4 women – and over half the guys were dieting at any one time (of course, so were most of the women). Naturally, they were trying to “one up” each other with how much they could *not* eat and/or how often they went to the gym. And they liked to point out to us non-dieters how “good” they were being. They were like a case study in restrained/limited calorie eating that led to breakdowns and overeating – and over and over in a cycle. (These were mostly sedentary office workers. The field guys could not be bothered to diet as they were working their butts off, burning calories and needing fuel.)

  13. HE. Benyamine permalink

    ugh … so hard to the diet, but I want oatmeal chocolate chip

  14. Potbelly has the most amazing cookies EVER. I’m impressed that you even wanted to share. I would eat that whole package up in seconds. Have you had the dream bar? It’s heaven!

  15. Hmm, the only guys I know who diet/have dieted are all fat (or used to be). Okay, I also know one guy who’s trying to gain weight, but that’s it. However, that still means every fat guy I know is trying to lose weight …

  16. I find it really sad that men are expected to put the same amount of time, energy, and money into looking slick and thin as women are–mostly because I think it’s sad women are expected to expend so much time, energy, and money on their appearance. Instead of liberating women from a double standard, feminism appears to have shackled men to the same standard. Dunno what went wrong…

    Exactly!

  17. Lady Vengeance permalink

    Yeah, goddamn those feminists and their insistence that all genders should perform up to the patriarchy’s standards! That’s totally what feminism is about! Doing EXACTLY WHAT THE PATRIARCHY WANTS.

    I can’t be any more sarcastic in written form.

  18. Rosa permalink

    p – my son’s been tested for EVERYTHING. Celiac, cystic fibrosis, lack of human growth hormone, other digestive issues, etc. He’s just a little guy, is all. I expect puberty will hit him like me & his dad, all at once with a giant growth spurt.

Leave a Reply

