Skip to content

Teen Fatsion on CNN

April 29, 2009

CNN has an article up about Target and Forever 21 expanding their teen lines to accomidate plus size teens.

Generally a positive article aside from the obligatory MeMe Roth quote, but the article quickly refutes her, pointing out, that y’know, everyone needs to wear clothes.

I particularly liked this quote:

“If you’re squishing yourself into clothes that are a couple sizes too small or you’re wearing men’s clothes, how are you going to go out on a date? How are you going to go to parties with your friends and feel like you fit in? That all has to do with self-esteem and body image,” she said.

She being the lovely Emme.

That hit home for me, because I wore men’s jeans until I was at least 18, and a lot of men’s shirts and other clothing as well.  I would find the occasional dress, but most of my clothes were men’s.  (I still wear men’s boots and tennis shoes, it’s just easier.) I didn’t particularly mind, but they weren’t made to fit my extremely curvy body, so the final look was…well… not great.

Though… from the article:

Faith 21 will feature of-the-moment pieces like sheer peasant blouses, denim leggings and curve-hugging mini dresses. Pure Energy will have skinny jeans, maxi dresses and sleeveless party tops.

Not to be whiney, but skinny jeans for bigger girls?  Frankly, skinny jeans for anyone?  Ews.

Still, more good news for fatshion.

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. Patsy Nevins permalink

    Sorry, but I am not a teenager, & I LOVE skinny jeans. That has always been my preferred style, jeans with tapered legs & quite narrow ankles. I have fairly slim thighs & legs for my size & I also have a disability which causes me to be prone to tripping & falling easily, & I hate baggy pants & a lot of extra material around my legs. I don’t really care about fashion, just what I like, & whatever the fashion trends say, I like my tapered jeans…stretch jeans with enough room through the waist & tummy to be comfortable & the narrower ankle. I am a Rightfit Yellow, for anyone who has bought Rightfit jeans.

    I guess it is all a matter of taste &, as far as I am concerned, anyone of any size should be able to buy & wear any kind of clothing style she likes.

  2. Meems permalink

    I’m not a skinny girl (or a teenager), but I like my skinny jeans, too. I think the silhouette actually can work on bigger women…and I’ve gotten plenty of compliments from men on how I dress.

    Though I understand that Forever21 is an inexpensive line aimed at teenagers, I’m 25 and still shop there regularly. I feel too young for most stores aimed at adults, and, while I certainly wouldn’t wear just anything from Forever21, I love being able to find cute, trendy, CHEAP pieces to update my wardrobe each season.

  3. I wish news organizations that insist on treating MeMe Roth as a legitimate “expert” on childhood obesity rather than the insane, uncredentialed nutcase she really is would note that hers is a one-woman organization instead of implying that she’s the president of a “national” organization, as her org name implies. Roth thinks parents of fat kids are child abusers. I think its child abuse to deny children clothes that fit them in hopes it will torment and traumatize them enough into losing weight.

  4. Bree permalink

    Amen to what Rachel said. I will never understand the mindset of people who think fat teenagers don’t deserve to have nice, stylish clothes. Fashion is not just for the slender. I wish more attention was paid to plus size clothes when I was younger. While at the time I was more a stocky fat, there still weren’t a lot of choices 20 years ago.

  5. I guess it never occurs to people like MeMe that sometimes weight-loss only comes when you begin to love and value yourself. When I hated my body, I didn’t care how I treated it. Now that I’ve come to value myself as a worthy person, I treat it right and feed it the healthy foods it needs. If shame ever worked to encouraged weight-loss, we’d be a nation of thin people.

    • Here, here. That Meme Roth person is indeed a nutter. I read a blurb in which she stated in so many words, “that one shouldn’t use depression, stress, pregnancy or genetics as an excuse to become obese.” I’m sorry Meme next time I fall in to a deep depression I’ll concern myself with not gaining any weight because when my mental health is threatened at least I’ll know that I can fit in my size “whatever” jeans.

  6. Count another girl in who used to wear an awful lot of men’s clothing. There was just nowhere to get cute, fashionable stuff, when I was a teenager living out in the boonies. I’d get one trip to the city a year, two if lucky, and it was heartbreaking to have all my friends go to all the great stores, and me have nothing but the Cotton Ginny to go to. (Yuck. Yuckity yuck.) Now that I make lots of money and live somewhere with enough population density, I can buy GIRL CLOTHES. And I’m really happy. Super-happy.

    I spotted this article, and I KNEW that there would be a line in it somewhere about “we shouldn’t ENCOURAGE the fat teens” or something crappy like that. Yeah. MeMe Roth can go take a flying leap. What the crap, so all the fat girls should just wear burlap sacks and consider themselves ugly pariahs, and THAT will fix the problem? …fuck you, MeMe Roth.

  7. Karen permalink

    I shop a lot at Target and noticed awhile back that clothes in the “regular” and “junior” sections were available in XL, or 18s and 20s. They carry a few fashion lines and basics up to 24/26. Some of my favorite clothes are from Target and I may have to shop there more often now and vote with my dollars, so to speak.

  8. Hell, if M*M* had her way, we’d all wear burlap underwear. Sewn by hand.

    I guess being blonde and “cute” and having a hate-on for one particular group of people with scapegoat status is enough to get you certified as an “expert.”

  9. “Roth thinks parents of fat kids are child abusers. I think its child abuse to deny children clothes that fit them in hopes it will torment and traumatize them enough into losing weight.”

    Beautifully put and oh so true.

  10. The only problem I had with the article was the implication that liking how you look in clothes and improving your self-esteem contributes to the obesity epidemic when, infact, weight worries are a self-fulfilling prophesy (a quote from Kathy Kater, author of Real Kids come in all sizes). Diets don’t work and building self-esteem in conjunction with healthy eating and a healthy fitness routine will encourage health AT ANY SIZE. These are the things we try to focus on in the How I look Journal for young teens.

Leave a Reply

