Skip to content

Dance Your Ass Off? But I need it to keep my legs on….

June 23, 2009

Can you see my eyebrow arch in annoyance?  Because it is arching.  I’m going to get wrinkles because of shit like this:

That’s right fatties, want to dance?  Well you better LOSE THAT WEIGHT. I had held a distant hope that perhaps they were just going to let these talented individuals get back in shape and dance for prizes.  But alas, my hopes were dashed upon reading the website.

The judges score the routines, and then the contestants weigh in to reveal their weekly weight loss. The dance score and the weight loss are combined for an overall score, which determines who is sent home each week.

So essentially, no matter how well you dance, if you don’t lose weight you won’t win. Let’s totally ignore the fact that you’re working out constantly and potentially gaining muscle  which weighs more than fat.  But if you don’t lose lose lose you’re just LAZY.  Nothing beats starving yourself while simultaneously working your ass off and causing injuries Healthy Weight Loss UR Doin it WRNG.

I also can’t decide if they think fatties are HILARIOUS or pathetic victims of their own gluttony, or really, anything?  I mean, I guess I will never know because I will not be watching this show.  (If I could get Oxygen taken off my cable, I would.)

I will not be watching the show because it offends fat people everywhere who are already great dancers without losing weight, promotes poor ideas about exercise and weight loss,  and perhaps most importantly their “about the show” page contains possibly the worst pun ever:

Then they shake and rattle their rolls in front of a live studio audience and a panel of expert judges.

I rest my case.  This show sucks.

P.S. Et Tu Marissa Jaret Winokur?

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. AliciaMaud permalink

    I happened across this today, home sick from school. A man was crying and saying, “My dad died of being fat and I don’t want the same thing to happen to me.”

    I turned the channel before I could hear mythology being perpetuated before my very ears. Ugh.

  2. Bianca permalink

    Have you seen this?

    http://www.people.com/people/article/0,,20286636,00.html?xid=rss-topheadlines

  3. No I hadn’t. Ew.

  4. Jane permalink

    The one thing I have to say for this show is, IF you can stomach the idea of a weight-loss reality show (and I know that’s a hella big if), the way it is actually *scored* puts it far above all the others. Your score is your dance score (the average of scores from three judges on a 1-10 scale) and your percentage of weight loss. So the scores tend to be “7.3 for the dancing, plus your 1.2 percent weight loss. It’s pretty difficult to be eliminated for least weight loss; you pretty much have to be in the bottom two dancers to go home. (Yes, I watch. I TiVo it, though, and fast forward over anything that isn’t dancing.) I’d rather the weight loss score be eliminated entirely, even if they are going to pluck these people out of their regular lives and sequester them with a dietitian and a trainer, but it’s better than its competitors.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Big Fat Deal » “Fatsploitation” Television?

Leave a Reply

